Abba, Father

Daddy look at what I made for you
Daddy see what I have done
do you like it Daddy
is it pretty Daddy
did I do good?

Daddy see what I am doing
Daddy watch me as I go
Daddy Daddy Daddy Daddy
won’t you stop for a while
I’m doing this for you.

Don’t you like my gift Daddy
isn’t my effort good enough
Oh Daddy say you like it
just give me one moment
I need to show it to you.

Daddy doesn’t appreciate me
nothing I do is right
I’m always trying so hard
I’m doing the best I can
but I never can do enough.

Maybe if I only work harder
if I try just a little bit more
I’ll put away my childhood things
I’ll grow up and stand tall
and you will be proud of me.

Oh Daddy why don’t you look at me
why do you never cut me slack
it’s always this or that or something
I’ve done all this for you
why isn’t it enough?

I stand out here alone
because Daddy doesn’t care
he cut me off without a word
so I’ll go it on my own
I don’t need you anymore.

Give me one good reason why
I shouldn’t curse your name
what have you ever done for me
when did you ever care
and have I ever mattered to you?

Why am I not good enough
what do you want from me
is there any point at all
in struggling to appease you
why do I still care about you?

Oh Daddy I feel your arms around me
I feel your tears in my hair
you rock me gently as I break
and all my hate lies around me
you hold me safe and warm.

You never needed my good deeds
Daddy I never had to prove myself
you’ve loved me the same this whole time
and what I did or didn’t do
never changed your love.

My Daddy knows I’m worth loving
because he loves me so
It’s who he is to love his children
all of them yes even me
I never had to earn it.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rose's Ink Well
    May 03, 2011 @ 10:42:14

    I’ve been in a poetry/emo mood lately. As you can tell. Hope y’all are finding some of the healing these free verses have brought me.

    Reply

  2. christopher2025
    May 03, 2011 @ 19:13:43

    They are sure helping me. Well done!

    Reply

  3. A Father
    May 03, 2011 @ 22:03:32

    Excellent. You express exactly what a father wants for his daughter.

    Reply

  4. Vinny
    May 14, 2017 @ 22:11:13

    The new Zune browser is surprisingly good, but not as good as the iP#17o82d&;s. It works well, but isn’t as fast as Safari, and has a clunkier interface. If you occasionally plan on using the web browser that’s not an issue, but if you’re planning to browse the web alot from your PMP then the iPod’s larger screen and better browser may be important.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

