Where does my help come from?

Fear of screwing up like King David did has dogged me much of my life. Every time I get to 2 Samuel 11, I shake inside. I imagine all the people (the children!) who would suffer because I fell so low. Because of me.

Because of David, hundreds of thousands of men, women, and children died. His whole country suffered for thousands of years because of his stupid mistakes. The fear that (should I follow God and allow Him to raise me up) I could sin like that has haunted me and kept me from seeking God. As miserable as it makes me to deny God’s plans for me, at least I’m not hurting anyone else by my sin, right?

Wrong. So very wrong. Firstly, the moral of David’s tale is not that the mighty will fall. The moral is that even the might will fall if they do not cling to God each day. David’s greatest sin was forgetting to make God his first priority. He’d allowed compromises to creep in over the years.  He lied to a priest, thinking the lie would would protect the man. (It didn’t, but that’s another story.) He took extra wives because it was an acceptable custom, never mind that God had prohibited it for kings. Small compromises built into a snowball that became an avalanche.

Rather than live in fear of that some-day avalanche, we should take captive the individual snowflakes that would create it. And since only God could catch that many snowflakes, we should keep ourselves tightly tucked in the shelter of His wings.

Look back at all the promises of blessings God has given. Each one states that God will parcel out these good things as long as we remain in His presence. As long as we never forget where our might comes from, the reason and source of our strength. For all the terror that David’s fall inspires, there is hope in it. Not only does God forgive such monumental screw-ups, He provides a way to avoid them completely.

In our own strength, each one of us will fall at some point. We will slip, stumble, trip, or otherwise skid in this life. But if we are close enough to God, we can reach out our hand and grab onto God, Who will keep us from face-planting. But if we’ve wandered away, if we’ve neglected to track closely to God’s trail, then when our windmilling arms reach desperately for aid, we won’t find any. And we can take down anyone what has walked closely with us.

Our prayer should be that everyday we bury our hands and twist our fingers into God’s robes, holding on so firmly that He catches us the instant our step falters. David surely thought that as a man grown and mightily accomplished, he didn’t need to tag along like a wobbly child.  He learned the very hard way that no one ever outgrows the need to clutch the hand of the Father.

(these thoughts came as I read this thoughtful study)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. rosesinkwell
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 20:35:51

    I know that it’s not Sunday, but I also know that it’s kind of lame to open up a blog and there’s nothing there. So, here’s an early post for your consumption. ^_^

    Reply

  2. mjkj
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 20:59:15

    Ah, thank you 😀

    It is always nice if there is something to read…

    …and yeah, these are quite insightful and fitting thoughts…

    mjkj

    Reply

  3. Christi
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 21:15:58

    Thank you Sharon! This is delightful, I can tell I am going to be reading your blog like a devotional. I’ll be bringing your thoughts to my quiet time with the Lord to hear what He has to reveal to me about my own nature. What a blessing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

